Maybe intent should matter, but I think the Astros would have a strong argument if the rule was ignored. The rules may not always be fair, but they have to be followed.
There are other instances where a player was penalized for interference when he had no other option. Remember the 2013 World Series between the Red Sox and Cardinals? Will Middlebrooks was called for interference when he impeded a runner after a wild throw. He couldn't have avoided the contact without defying gravity, but by the rule he interfered with the runner.